Testimonials & Reviews

5/5
David L. Chengelis, MD -  - Advanced Laparoscopic Surgeon

Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery, PC

David L. Chengelis, MD

Advanced Laparoscopic Surgeon located in Troy, MI

21 total reviews

Dr. David L. Chengelis always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 21 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. David Chengelis below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Theresa M.
Submitted 10/15/21
I was very pleased with Dr. Chengelis& his team. When I met Dr. Chengelis I knew I had picked the perfect surgeon to do my sleeve surgery. His calm voice assured me that my third time of going through the program would be a charm. I chickened out twice but with all the resent changes that has occurred in my life. 1. Being diagnosed with MS.8/22/2016 2. Diagnosed with optic neuritis in my left eye which has left me blind8/2016. 3. Primary care doctor complaining about my fluctuating weight that needed to be lost due to my MS.4 my sister passing away 10/ 10/ 2020 and she didn't get her health under control where she will be able to lose the weight to have the bariatric surgery herself so she inspired me to go ahead and have the surgery myself meeting dr. Chengelis really helped me to accomplish a goal that my sister never got well enough to accomplish herself I did it, I'm happy, I recommend Dr. Chengelis as your surgeon. My pain was the day of surgery and sore after then No pain medicine needed at all after first few days. My start wt.333 and already down 70 plbs. They inspired me Now let me inspire you to get it done for a better feeling. It will give the mind set once you see or hear someone else noticing you Thanks for this opportunity for a new life
John P.
Submitted 09/16/21
Dr. Chengelis and his staff were professional yet approachable. Knowing that you need surgery is intimidating and apprehensive for the average person. When Dr. C confidently told me he could repair me - I became more relaxed and excepting of having surgery. I was convinced my necessary procedure would be routine for him. It is called bedside manner and Dr. C had it for me. I am totally satisfied with him and his team. I would not hesitate to see him again if I should ever develop an issue that is in his wheelhouse of expertise. Thank you DR. C
Jeffery T.
Submitted 08/26/21
My experience with Dr.David Chengelis was a very smooth and amazing one.He was very pleasant, approachable and understanding.Times that I had questions he would answer in detail with no hesitation to help.One of the smoothest Doctor's I have seen.My surgery went smoothly as well.And his team was on point.Very nice experience.
James H.
Submitted 05/13/21
Dr. Changelis has been nothing short of a miracle worker. I was very satisfied with the outcome of my surgical procedure. I would definitely recommend his services to any and all seeking the same procedure. There was never a moment of doubt when I felt uncomfortable. I just pray that Dr. Changelis continues on with his practice. And may the God of this universe continue to bless him and keep. And I could not have been more please with his front office personnel. Keep up the good work and stay safe.
Angela C.
Submitted 04/09/21
Wonderful, caring, life saving. There are not enough praises I can give Dr. Chengelis. He is expert and gentle. He listens to his patients and remembers what they say. He repaired my husband's hernia excellently. Then performed gastric sleeve surgery on me. I had struggled with weight for years and my diabetes was out of control. He took on my difficult case and at 67 years old, I have a new life. The operation was quick and painless, only one night in the hospital. My ravenous appetite was gone and the pounds began to disappear, as did my diabetes. I cannot thank him enough. Thank you also to Jessica and the rest of his staff who were just great. I am very grateful.
Dana C.
Submitted 12/10/20
I first had the sleeve done 3 years ago by another physician. I had horrible reflux. I went to see Dr Chengelis who thoroughly explained why I was having reflux and suggested I have the RNY to help with reflux. I really didn’t need it for weight gain. We did discuss that I would probably still lose some weight 20-30lb and I lost an additional 25lb! He’s right on the money! I was nervous and scared much more so from the sleeve. With his reassurance I went through with the surgery. It was as he said a bigger punch to the gut than the sleeve, but it was a game changer! Instantly I could drink with zero reflux!!! 6 months later I feel my best ever, I have so much confidence in my appearance and just overall as a person. I cannot thank him enough I feel as if he gave me a second chance at life! You do need to maintain a healthy lifestyle but I absolutely can enjoy what I desire in moderation! Jessica at his office makes you feel like you’re the only patient, she’s compassionate, sweet, and so professional! Thank you Dr. Chengelis for giving me my life back!
Heather Z.
Submitted 12/01/20
I could not be happier with the outcome of my Robotic Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy. My surgery went perfect and my recovery went so well. Dr. Chengelis is a phenomenal surgeon and such a kind person. He always makes time to answer questions. His staff is very helpful and caring —I felt like Jessica was a friend. He made a scary situation much better and I’m so thankful we found him.
WILLIAM C.
Submitted 08/06/20
Dr. Ghengelis was a consumate professional during my entire robotic asist inquinal hernia repair surgery interaction (from evaluation to the actual sugical repair and follow up). Between the doctor's performance and wise direction, and, the Beaumont Hospital staff, I have, during almost 3 months and wise practices, fully recovered and am now painless. I am now pursuing proper reconditioning to return to my active life. Thank you Dr. Chengelis and all related staff for your compassion, concern, and skills to help preserve my wellness!
Marcia R.
Submitted 01/23/20
Dr. Chengelis did an excellent surgery on my emergency bowel obstruction. His post op. Report was very clear and informative. The recovery was very painless and quick. I’d highly recommend Dr. Chengelis!!!
William E.
Submitted 01/02/20
Dr. Chengelis has a wonderful bed side manner and a great sense of humor. Really helped put me at ease with my fear of surgery. The whole process from start to finish was an excellent experience and I would highly recommend Dr. Chengelis to anyone! Really wish more doctors could be like him. He genuinely cares about his patient's needs and it shows! My wife thinks he is fantastic as well. Thank you very much Dr. Chengelis, for all that you did for me.
Crystal C.
Submitted 10/29/19
I first meet Dr. Chengelis in 2016. He gave me the best tool in the Shed (Vertical Sleeve). I lost 157lbs within 2 years. In September 2019, I had to have a revision. I was nervous and afraid. Dr. Chengelis definitely helped me get over my fear. My acid reflux is gone and so is another 24lbs. Thank you Dr. Chengelis you are the best.
Maureen M.
Submitted 07/06/19
I could not have asked for better care! Dr. Chengelis is the best!
Rafi T.
Submitted 06/27/19
I'm a satisfied and happy patient of Dr. Chengelis. I had a right inguinal hernia ( I guess I had it for a long time but just neglected it until I had the pain and disabled my mobility momentarily), so I was referred to him by my Primary Care Doctor. The first appointment was very informative and transparent, I had big hernia, I chose surgery as soon as possible, the date was set on June 18 and Dr. Chengelis showed up before the surgery and explained to me the procedure again. I was given general anesthesia, after I woke up from the surgery by 3 hours I headed home (LOL I did not drive, my sister in law did), I walked in my house and climbed up the stairs with no pain. The following day I woke up and NO pain (to my surprise, believe or not,) other than soreness and numbness from anesthesia, no lifting of any kind, just walking and climbing up and down at home until my follow up appointment today with Dr. Chengelis. He checked me, asked me to cough strongly and there was NO sign of hernia or pain. I was elated and ready to go back to my normal life. Thank you Dr. Chengelis with all my respect for your great expertise & professionalism, you made the whole process easy, smooth and painless.
Megan J.
Submitted 01/11/19
Dr. Chengalis helped me change my life and I will be forever grateful! I first met him in October of 2017 and he preformed my vsg surgery in December 2017. Since then I have lost over 120lbs and completely changed my lifestyle. Thank you so much for giving me the tool I needed to turn my life and health around. I would highly recommend him and his entire office staff!
Angie G.
Submitted 01/10/19
I started 5 years ago with Dr Chengelis, at 249 pounds and on the verge to diabetes. I needed to get help!! And he helped me big time!!! He’s a wonderful doctor and takes great care of you. And his office staff do an amazing job. Although I had the sleeve done it’s very important to know that this is not magic, I changed my way of eating and drinking. I weigh my meals and cook for me and my family and we drink water( NO POP). And NO FAST FOOD!!! Make good choices and this will work. I’ve lost 65 pounds and still working on losing more. I don’t know how I can ever thank you for all your help.
Hollie H.
Submitted 12/10/18
Dr. Chengelis is amazing. With his help, I lost a total of 130#. He did my RNY and also my ventral hernia surgery. He said I would forget him, but that is next to impossible. I will NEVER forget how he helped change my life. RNY is the ONLY reason I have my daughter. Dr. Chengelis also did a wonderful job on my father's hernia. He is knowledgeable and a straight shooter (which I appreciate). I would recommend him to anyone and will return to him, if I ever need to.
Erik P.
Submitted 10/23/18
If you are looking for an outstanding surgeon, look no further...this man is awesome. If you are on the fence on weight loss surgery don't let another day pass you by! You will not regret the decision to start your journey!!
Eilasor E.
Submitted 10/17/18
I'm a nurse and he is our to go to surgeon for our surgical needs in the hospital !!!
Terry L.
Submitted 10/10/18
Dr Chengelis! You probably don’t realize how many lives you’ve changed for the better. I’m so blessed to have been your patient.
Eilasor E.
Submitted 10/10/18
The best surgeon with a good heart !!! We are so lucky to have a world class surgeon at Beaumont !!! He's the kind of surgeon you want, not just a skilled surgeon but a surgeon with excellent bedside manners and who is passionate of what he does !!!